Twin Towns

The town of Pembroke is twinned with with both Bergen in Lower Saxony – Germany and with Pembroke in Malta.


Bergen, Germany

On 16th April 1977 a partnership and twinning agreement was signed between Councilllor Joe Gough, then Mayor of Pembroke and Burgermeister (Mayor) Dr W Kothe of Bergen Germany.


Pembroke, Malta

The twinning agreement with Pembroke, Malta was signed on 4th May 2002, the Mayor of Pembroke at the time was Cllr Aden Brinn and the Mayor of Pembroke, Malta was Mr Joe Zammit. Following his service of over ten years, Mr Joe Zammit resigned his post as Mayor in 2013 and a new Mayor Dr. Dean Hili was duly elected with Councillor Raymond Lanzon elected as Deputy Mayor.

Pembroke Twinning Committee News

Bürgermeisterin of Bergen visits Pembroke

The Mayor of Pembroke and Chairman of the Pembroke Twinning Committee, Cllr Aden Brinn welcomed recently to the Mayor’s Parlour at Pembroke Town Hall the Burgermeisterin Claudia Dettmar-Muller & Mrs Silvia Bothe from our twin town of Bergen, Lower Saxony, Germany.

During their visit the itinerary included visiting St Mary’s Church, Warren, Stackpole Gardens, Pembroke Castle, the West Wales Maritime Museum & Pembroke Dock Heritage Centre. A visit also included going to Castlemartin Army Camp. 

A presentation of a framed photograph was presented by Cllr Brinn to Burgermeisterin Claudia Dettmar-Muller of the Henry V11 Statute which proudly stands down at Pembroke Quay.

During the visit both Mayor’s  disscussed ideas of future exchanges of our youth and organisations between our respective communities and to continue in the spirit of strengthening European international friendship between Pembroke & Bergen.

Translate this website »
Scroll to Top